The Rundown
{Updated June 3, 2016}

A little about myself: I was born July 12th, 1982, in eastern Ontario, to a Nova Scotian mother and Dutch father. I am 33 years old. I enjoy Netflix, DVDs, books, scrapbooking, writing, online shopping, baking, photography, Pinterest, Instagram, travelling, Facebook, and cooking.

I have two sisters and two brothers, all younger than myself. My youngest brother lives in Alberta with his girlfriend. My other brother lives in Newfoundland with his fiancée; they are expecting their first baby in the fall of 2016. Both my sisters live in the same city as our parents. My sister Keesje and her boyfriend welcomed my nephew, Ashe, into the world in July 2011. He’s a pretty awesome kid!

In October 2004, I graduated from Queen’s University with a B.A. in English Literature.

In February 2006, I met Jordan. He proposed in April 2008 and then deployed to Afghanistan in May. In July 2008 we travelled to Phuket, Thailand, my first vacation outside of North America. On August 1st, 2009 we were married at our church in Kingston. We purchased our first home around the same time. Three years later we were posted to the Petawawa base and bought our second home.

Our daughter, Khloë, was born December 3, 2013. At six months old she was diagnosed with a genetic neuromuscular disorder called Spinal Muscular Atrophy (Type 1). She passed away at 13 months old. On October 23, 2015, our baby boy Oliver was born. He, too, was diagnosed with SMA. We enrolled him in NURTURE, a clinical trial for a drug called Nusinersen, in Boston, Massachusetts. He is currently 7 months old and doing very well.